Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Something, Maybe by Elizabeth Scott Book Review

Something, Maybe by Elizabeth Scott
(Simon Pulse, Hardcover, 2009)

Hannah's parents have always sort-of been the bane of her existence. Her dad is super famous for having a mansion full of girlfriends (think Hugh Hefner) and, to make matters worse, his whole life is filmed as a reality tv show. Hannah's mom used to be one of those girlfriends, but then she got pregnant and kicked out of the mansion. So now, she does live chats while modeling lingerie. Needless to say, Hannah pretty much tries to be invisible. She's succeeding until her crush starts paying attention to her, her dad wants her to come visit the mansion, and she suddenly can't stop thinking about Finn who is so not her crush.

Like so many of you, I became a fan of Elizabeth Scott when I read bloom. Her books are a nice mix of real life issues and odd scenarios. In Something, Maybe, Hannah wants what most of us want at some point in our lives - to not be noticed. I sympathized with her attempts at invisibility (big, baggy clothes and no make-up) and I laughed over her secret fear that she might turn into her parents and suddenly want to rip a guy's clothes off. Family issues are also often at the heart of Scott's books. No family is perfect, especially Hannah's, but we all have to reconcile how we fit into our family's tapestry. (Feel free to read that as a reference to Harry Potter...) Hannah's discoveries are heartfelt and poignant. Something, Maybe is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.

Want to learn more about Elizabeth and her books?
Read my interview with Elizabeth from a year ago.
Read my review of Perfect You.
Read my review of Stealing Heaven.

Oh, and this cover totally makes me think of Blake Lively. I think it's the way that the cover model is pursing her lips. What do you think?


  1. Oooh, I really want to read this one, it looks great!

  2. Wow, you're lucky that you got to read this already! I'm not sure I'd say the cover looks like Blake, but that's probably mostly because I identify her by her hair, and this model doesn't have it.

  3. That's true. The hair is totally different. I like the cover model's bracelets though. :)

  4. Yes, Blake Lively lips, but the hair needs some work :P I love her bracelets! I'm looking forward to this book!

  5. I love Elizabeth Scott (even though I've only read Bloom) so I can't wait to read this.

  6. I really can't wait for this book. Nice review. I see what you mean about Blake's lips though I hadn't noticed until you said it!

  7. Read this one :)

    I love the cover. And yeah, she does kind of, KIND OF, look like Blake Lively.

  8. Hi! Just stopping by to let you know you've been nominated for a blog award!
    Details here:


Like it, love it, or really hate it? Leave a comment and let me know. I love hearing from other people! And if you'd like to email me, my email address is

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.